The Chairman of the Governing Body of the Institute is a distinguished social scientist of public eminence. Chairman works in an honorary capacity for a term of three years. The maximum number of terms of a Chairman is three. The Chairman is appointed by the mutual consultations between the ICSSR and Government of Assam.

Many distinguished personalities decorated the position of Chairman so far. Presently Professor Atul Sarma is guiding the Institute as its Chairman. The illustrious list of Chairmen is as under:

  • Late L C Jain
  • Ex-member of the Planning commission of India and former High Commissioner of India to South Africa.
    Tenure: March 1991-January 2000

  • Professor Mrinal Miri
  • Eminent Scholar, former Director of the Indian Institute of Advanced Studies, Shimla and Former Vice-Chancellor of North Eastern Hill University, Shillong
    Tenure: February 2000-February 2005

  • Professor Ashok Jain
  • C V Raman Chair Professor of Development Studies at Dr C V Raman University, Vice President, EMPI Business School, Institute of Informatics and Communication, University of Delhi.
    Tenure: March 2005-March 2011.

  • Professor Atul Sarma
  • Eminent Economist; Former Vice Chancellor of Rajiv Gandhi University, Itanagar; Former Director of Indian Statistical Institute, New Delhi; and Member of the 13th Finance Commission of Government of India .
    Tenure: March 2011-till date.


The Director is the chief executive of the Institute. The Director is a Professor at the Institute and a distinguished scholar in own areas of interest. The Governing Body appoints the Director for three years, which can be extended for another term. The Director represents the Institute in all matters and transactions. The list of Directors of the Institute so far is as under:

  • Professor Annada Charan Bhagabati
  • June 1992 to November 1993

  • Professor Mohammed Taher (Acting Director)
  • November 1993 to March 1994

  • Late Professor Atul Goswami
  • March 1994-March 2000

  • Professor Abu Nasar Saied Ahmed
  • March 2000-March 2006

  • Professor Indranee Dutta
  • March 2006 - March 2012

  • Professor Bhupen Sarmah
  • March 2012 - till now

Before Professor Bhagabati took over as the first Director of the Institute in 1992, Shri Bhaskar Baruah, the then Commissioner, Planning and Development Department, Govt. of Assam was in charge as the Administrative Head of the Institute.

Administrative Officer

The Administrative Officer of the Institute is a full time officer appointed by the Governing Body. He/She is the Secretary of the Administrative and Finance Committee. Under the control of the Director, he is responsible for overall administration of the Institute. He is responsible for the due custody of the records and common seal of the Institute. The list of full-time Administrative Officers of the Institute so far is as under:

  • Sri M P Rajkhowa
  • February 1994 to February 1999

  • Sri Binit Ch Moral
  • January 2001 to May 2002

  • Sri Pranab Borgohain
  • May 2005 to July 2009

  • Sri Diganta Ranjan Patgiri
  • May 2011 till date

During the intermittent periods, members of the Faculty shouldered the additional responsibility as Administrative Officers.